What is the best location in buying multifamily house in Albany, new york

9 Replies

Hi, I am a newbie in buying real estate. I live in downstate NY and I want to buy a multifamily home in Albany New York. I would like to rent to students or city employees of Albany. I am looking for a real estate broker in Albany NY who can help me with search and property management as well.

What is the best location in Albany, NY?

How do I find a good property management company in Albany NY for a potential purchase?

Thank you

I'd stay away from the bulk of college kids, they are rather destructive. And knowing your an out of town owner will only make things worse. 

Thanks Paul for the advice, I was thinking of using property management company for the property. What would be the best areas for renters?

@Lele Min

Make a call to the college off campus housing office. Ask them where the students like to live, what they are paying and getting with their rental.

Go to IREM.org search ARM certified find ones that handle student housing call 5 find out how they screen and find the students.

Paul

Excellent advice. I was planing to pursue a similar market in NJ

@Paul Mendel

Do you have experience renting to students in Albany? Why do you say they are destructive? I agree that in general they are harder on properties than other people, but I still feel if you do your due diligence and check them out throughly a lot of problems can be avoided. Just want your thoughts on this as this is a sub-group I've been interested in as well.

Originally posted by @Lele Min :

Hi, I am a newbie in buying real estate. I live in downstate NY and I want to buy a multifamily home in Albany New York. I would like to rent to students or city employees of Albany. I am looking for a real estate broker in Albany NY who can help me with search and property management as well.

What is the best location in Albany, NY?