Newbies - Stop Using Cap Rare to Qualify Investments!

8 Replies

@Ben Leybovich I'm not a newbie but are you talking about commercial properties or SFH. If it's the latter I completely agree. If it's the former then I disagree. It would be helpful if you clarified.

Originally posted by Bruce M.:

@Ben Leybovich I'm not a newbie but are you talking about commercial properties or SFH. If it's the latter I completely agree. If it's the former then I disagree. It would be helpful if you clarified.

Bruce, relative to SFR, Cap Rate is not an applicable metric all together. In the income-producing space - while it is one of the most popular metrics, and it certainly has an application, this application is not what most folks do.

Cap Rate is a metric which underscores the behavior of the market-place. It is highly misleading relative to accessing valuation. Yet, that is how most people use it...

True, historic cap rates can be misleading in any property to an extent, much more so in residential less with a low maintenance commercial property, take a self storage facility or a ground lease on a drive-in theater....oops, not many of those left, LOL. When maintenance and management are minimal, operations are efficient, the cap rate can be telling you the truth as what can be expected.

We've discussed this in other threads as well, opportunity costs and similar investments, risks, management expertise, efficiency, vacancy can all play in actual rates of return and be much different from one owner to another, not to mention market influences. :) 

You're right @Ben Leybovich . In single family home investing the only measure anyone should use to determine value are comparable sales. I think we're on the same page here.

Hey, Bruce, Ben and Bill all agree! Or did we? The Income Approach is not the best to use for SFDs or when similar properties have an efficient market. I always want to know what I can sell it for before I know what I can rent it for. :)

@Ben Leybovich