Market Decline?

23 Replies

I am no expert in markets, finances or anything like that.. but since the stock market seems inflated.. are we going to see real estate prices drop within the next year? Specifically if the stock market drops significantly?

This post has been removed.

Great movie. But the market goes up and down for actual reasons.. the top investors in the world make money because they see the trends and act on them. Warren Buffet does not guess... price to earnings ratios are high, and GDP has not increased enough to support the projected earnings. Anyways.. if the market drops because of inflated numbers, RE will suffer as well. Maybe some actual knowledge from more qualified individuals would be good.

what makes you qualified to qualify which opinions speculating on the future are qualified and non-qualified?

I'm selling my primary residence in SoCal very soon to realize the appreciation that has occurred over the past 3 years. I've bought quite a few assets by tapping the equity and it will feel good to wipe the debt clean and walk away with more capital and all these properties the appreciation bought me. Will the market go up more? Maybe, but I'm fighting the "addiction" mentioned in the video and making a move while it's still "up". No need to be at the top!

Some markets haven't even recovered much from the crash and are still filled with foreclosures. I think if we see another drop in REI, those markets won't change so drastically. But the markets that have made a huge comeback, could possibly have a big correction coming. I hope that happens after I sell actually :)

I'm relatively new at this as far as long term cycles goes, so I could just be way off and the local market continues to appreciate for the next 10 years. Then I'd be kicking myself in the butt for selling hah :)

@Account Closed