Do realtors have to disclose they are licensed when purchasing a rental for their personal portfolio?

27 Replies

(Located in Missouri) My question is, do realtors always have to disclose they are licensed even when they are buying for their own personal portfolio? I am planning on getting my license but am wondering if it could be a downfall to some awesome deals once they find out I am a realtor.  For instance, yesterday I got a lead on a vacant duplex and found out the owner was retired and didn't want anything to do with it.  He mentioned a price I know was well below it's value.  But then with suspicion in his voice he said "you aren't a broker are you?" as if he wouldn't have sold to me if I was.  Any input would be appreciated! 

Its likely his question about being a broker is due to the fact that he doesn't want to work with you to find out that you just want a listing out of it. Disclosure laws about being licensed are state specific. In my state you must disclose. 

Kansas requires it to be in the contract. I usually put this phrase into the contract: Buyer and Seller acknowledge that buyer is a licensed salesperson in the state of Kansas.

Not sure about Missouri, but I believe Article 12 of the NAR Code of Ethics would compel disclosure in the absence of a state law.

I would tell him "I am a salesperson/broker, but this is for me personally, and I'm not looking to get a commission. For the purposes of this purchase, I'm just a regular Joe. Are you good with that?" (Only if all of that is truthful!)

Good luck and congrats on finding a deal!

@Kyle Grimm