Vacant land deal - Buyer requesting $3k survey, what should I do?

8 Replies

I'm working on a vacant land wholesale deal and one of my potential buyers wants a $3,000 boundary survey done. He claims to be very interested, but I hesitate to drop the money on a survey because it doesn't necessarily guarantee the sale. There's a potential $19,000 profit in it so it's not like I won't make anything, but I'm not sure it's worth losing $3,000 to maybe sell it now versus 1-3 months from now. Anyone have any ideas about how to structure the deal so that he gets his survey and I don't lose $3,000 if he decides not to buy?

@Seth Williams@Mark Podolsky How have you guys handled the survey issue with your land deals in the past?

Thanks.

Not that I am an expert here but can you split the cost with the potential buyer so that he has some skin in the game? 

I wonder what the buyer is hoping to figure out that will convince him one way or the other? Or is he just trying to have someone else pay for the cost that he will have to pay for after he buys it?  

Sorry for the questions but I am curious about this.

@Zac Caudell

A.  Find another buyer.

B.  Have him pay for it.  If I am correct, when I bought my house, prior to closing, I paid for the survey.

If they are interested, they'll cough up the money.

Did you ask him what interest he has in the survey.

BTW  Never heard of such an expensive survey.

Buyer pays, if he's really interested.  Is there some doubt/ambiguity on the configuration?  No GIS maps available?

Thanks for the responses, folks. Technically, the buyer didn't request the survey, but he wants to know where the lot lines are when he walks the property. A survey is the only way I know to accomplish this with certainty. The neighboring property has a bunch of tires and other trash piled up near, and possibly over, the line, so I can see wanting to know exactly where the boundary is.