Would like advice on strategy

22 Replies

Hello!

I'm a 30 year old newbie investor looking to make a go of it as an REI. I'm stuck with a little analysis paralysis and I was hoping to get some feedback through the bigger pockets community.

Current situation:

-Full time employed as an Electrical engineer making six figures currently

-primary residence is on a 15yr note @2.65%. Owe $180,000 and home is worth about $260,000

-Have $50,000 liquid cash to begin investing in real estate

Goals (lofty I know):

-Retire from day job by age 50

-own home in San Antonio (primary residence), own home in Port Aransas, TX ( beach home), and own home in Winter Park, CO (mountain home). Wife and I would like to live in each home throughout different parts of the year.

-have enough rental income to live off of in retirement

I have done a lot of reading and research but I seem to be just tying myself up in knots as to which direction to go. I'm leaning towards multi family rentals but I figured I would reach out to more experienced investors on the site to get some ideas on strategies for starting out in my position. Thanks in advance,

Matt

@Matt M.

With 50k to play with I believe you can definitely reach your goals. I started out wholesaling since I didn't have as much cash to play with and I had an assumption that if I learned how to find great deals then eventually when I have the capital I can capitalize for myself as well as wholesaling. I still am happy with this route. You have more flexibility so I will let some buy and hold investors give you some advice on different strategies.

Matt, you will surely get a ton of advice from a ton of experienced investors. That may or may not add to your paralysis since you may get pulled in different directions. As you may have heard, invest in what suits your personality.