First time post - Need advice

6 Replies

I have a property that I have been renting for about 2 years now and the current renters are attempting to purchase the property. After a long negotiation we have came to a mutually agreeable price however, due to their current situation (finalizing a divorce) they wont be able to go through with the purchase for about 6 months. I would like to lock this in to prevent this negotiation from going back and forth over the next 6 months. Should I have them sign an option agreement or would I be able to do an actual purchase agreement this far out? Appreciate any advice. 

Personally, I wouldn't sign anything with them. You never know what can go wrong with a divorce. Have you thought about just listing it to see what interest it creates from buyers? You may get more from listing it than dealing with the current tenants. I would tell them you are going to list it to see what happens until they can afford to actually purchase the home. Just because they are renters doesn't give them first right to purchase the home.

I hope this helps.

Thanks for the response, 

I initially had no intention of selling the property as it does really well as a rental. I decided to go through with it for two reasons. The precipitating factor was this couples adamant desire to purchase the property which allowed me to negotiate a price that, after discussing with my realtor, I feel meets or exceeds what I would get if I listed. The second factor was this will allow me to completely pay off my student loans and be able to direct that money into more investments. My worry is that the market in our area is currently doing really well however, 6 months from now that could change and they may try to re-negotiate the price down.