Does this seem like a good deal?

8 Replies

I am currently new to investing and I have been looking into picking up my first multifamily home.  I think I have found a decent deal but I am still pretty new at running the numbers.  I was hoping I could get some insight from some other.  Here is the breakdown of the property:

Current four unit with all units occupied

Asking $260K

Taxes are $1,500/yr

Estimate insurance is $1000/yr

Current rents are $765, $730, $695, & $650

It seems like the numbers would work but I am sure I am forgetting things since I'm such a newbie.  Any help and advice would be greatly appreciated.  Thanks!

What are other 4 families in that area selling for?

What is the condition of the property?  Deferred maintenance?

Who pays utilities?

How are you financing?

Without plugging in all the numbers and not knowing who pays what utilities, I don't think there will be much cash flow, if any.  That doesn't mean it's a good or bad deal necessarily.  

What is your  long term plan?  Buy and Hold? 

Originally posted by @Darren Budahn :

What are other 4 families in that area selling for?

What is the condition of the property?  Deferred maintenance?

Who pays utilities?

How are you financing?

Without plugging in all the numbers and not knowing who pays what utilities, I don't think there will be much cash flow, if any.  That doesn't mean it's a good or bad deal necessarily.  

What is your  long term plan?  Buy and Hold? 

I have been looking at it to buy and hold. The renters pay the utilities. I haven't had a chance to look at the property yet for condition etc. as far as financing I would be putting 20% down and financing the rest through the bank I work for. The bank will give me a nice lender credit to cover most of the costs of purchasing and a quarter point off the rate since I'm an employee. 

What is the market price for this building ? Find the way to get a discount to market price.