Utah Real Estate Market

13 Replies

I'm currently renting out a condo in Utah around the Ogden area.  I cash flow pretty good, however, I also bought it in the market down turn about 5 years ago.  I'm now looking for my second property to invest in, but the market looks very strong right now.  

My question is... Is there anyone from Utah currently that is having any luck finding cash flow in our current market.  Housing seems way too high right now for the 1 or 2 % rule and if I'm flipping it's not even close to the 70% rule (from what I can see anyway).  

I'll admit, I'm no expert.  So what is everyone else's experience as of late?

Hi Korey, 

I moved from Utah to CO, a few years ago.  I was just back there a few weeks ago.

My daughter transferred to the Y this summer.  I was thinking maybe I could find an apartment for her to live in, and we could use it as a rental.

I found the prices to be really inflated.  I was unable to find anything near 1%.

Good luck with the search.  I would love to hear if you find something.

-MT

Mike,

I'll let you know if I do.. I was just looking in that area the other day and yes, it seems to be pretty inflated all around me. 

there are places in ogden that meet the 1% rule

Welcome to Bigger Pockets Korey! 

Utah real estate is hot in a lot of markets, but 1% rule deals are littered throughout Ogden. I'm on a couple of wholesalers lists and see 2% rule multifamily deals in Ogden every couple of months. 

Even in the more conservative markets like Logan you can get the 1% rule if you wait and source the property properly. Even though there are a lot of properties on the market that are not priced at 1%, the deals are out there. 

If you're looking to reposition your portfolio, it might not be a bad time to sell the condo. Might want to look at what kind of cash flow you're getting from that as well.

@Korey Moore  @Mike Thomas