Should I pay my real estate agent for a deal that didn't work out?

9 Replies

Long story short, my real estate agent and I have been chasing after a deal for about 2 months and now it's looking like it's probably not going to go through.  This deal has been a huge pain for everyone involved.  My real estate agent has gone above and beyond the call of duty on doing everything I've asked her to do and I feel terrible about her walking away empty handed.  I would never be able to afford to pay her for all the time she spent on this, but I'm wondering if $300 would help her feel better about all the time she spent on this?  Am I crazy?  Should I do this?  Would you do this?

I always abide by the principal that "a workman is worthy of his wages".  I would vote to pay her the $300 and then I would also loom for opportunities to get her paid on other deals, even if she isn't really doing much. For instance, you find a deal yourself, but you allow her to present you and get the buyer's agent portion of the commission. Just a thought. 

@Arthur Edmund

You could send your real estate agent some gift depending on what they like.  

Agents get most of their clients through word of mouth of well satisfied clients. So refer the agent to any friends and family looking to buy or sell.

Yeah, I was thinking pay her $300 and write a yelp review for her.

I would get her a generous gift card to an expensive restaurant, and definitely write her some good reviews.  Agents often do deals that never get to closing, so she's used to that...that's why commissions are so high for homes that do close.  But, if one of my clients acknowledged the work I did and thanked me for a job well done, it would make my day.

Medium buysellinvest.2Dawn Brenengen, Trailwood Realty, LLC | 919‑840‑8692 | http://www.trailwoodrealty.com | Podcast Guest on Show #101