Southside Chicago Investing

16 Replies

I don't know anything about the southside of Chicago.  Can someone tell me where to invest, to get the most bang for your buck(not Hyde Park)? I am looking for a 4-flat to owner-occupy, i.e. safe neighborhood.

Hi Victor!

How far south ?

How far west?

And what is your budget?

Marvin

@Marvin Anaya I'm using an FHA so the max for 4-unit is $703k or $565k for a 3-flat.

I have no knowledge of that area, so I don't have any boundaries. Just looking for good rent to price ratio in area with quality tenants.

@Victor Olowu For those prices you can buy just about anywhere except Beverly or Hyde Park but the edges of Hyde Park you could.  There is plenty of good areas or blocks but if you stick with going around UofC then you will do good.  

Originally posted by @Victor Olowu :

I don't know anything about the southside of Chicago.  Can someone tell me where to invest, to get the most bang for your buck(not Hyde Park)? I am looking for a 4-flat to owner-occupy, i.e. safe neighborhood.

Can you share why you say "not Hyde Park"?  

Victor Olowu washington park is not to far from Hyde park. I just seen a couple of multi units for sale. And it's a descent area.

This post has been removed.

Victor Olowu I specialize in multi family investments on the south side of Chicago. you're going to move in as owner occupant the most walkable location would probably be Hyde park and north east WOODLAWN. Also occupancy levels are high and you get the highest year over year rent growth. Other areas to consider would be North Kenwood and the Gap. There are parts of other areas that are okay however, as you know investing on the south side can be tricky as cap rates and other investments indicators can change in a block by block basis.