Section 8 in Philadelphia

7 Replies

Hi BP Forum,

I am looking to begin investing in section 8 approved properties in and around Philadelphia and wanted to hear from current investors about up or downsides. Thanks!

What area in Philadelphia are you looking to rent specifically? 

Im Looking in the Germantown, Mount Airy area.

@Sean Thompson I am not sure if you are interested in investing in homes that are currently Section 8 approved or you are planning to purchase homes and then put them into the Section 8 system.  In either case you are required to take a Section 8 landlord course as your first step if you property is not Section 8 approved.  Once you have completed this course you can then start the process to getting your residence inspected, qualified, and place into the PHA database.  When it comes to purchasing a home with Section 8 tenants in place, I have no experience here so I can't say how the process works.  However, I would think that once you have completed the landlord course, your information would be transferred to PHA's database, without the need for another home inspection.  Hopefully, another BP'er with direct experience in purchasing Section  8 will provide you with specifics.

Originally posted by @Paulette Midgette :