What costs are involved in having your own Real Estate license?

8 Replies

Hi all,

I am a new member to BiggerPockets.  I am currently getting my Real Estate license in Calgary, Alberta Canada.  My intent is to expand into doing more real estate flipping.  My thinking is that with my own license I will have access to more information in making smart purchase decisions.  Also the license will reduce my flipping costs on the resale side.

I am new to working with brokerages.  Are there any real estate agents out there that could tell me about what costs I should expect to pay to a brokerage.  I have heard they vary widely from commission based to flat fee.  I am looking to do almost exclusively personal trades.  Are there brokerages out there that cater to this type of agent.  What costs will I likely incur with such a brokerage?  I am in Calgary, Alberta.  Local info is greatly appreciated. 

Anyone have experience in this field?  I have concerns that I will not be able to do enough volume to making having my own license worth while.  My plan is to be flipping only 1-2 houses at a time for at least the first 1-2 years. 

I also am looking for information regarding the best way to finance houses for the flip. Average house prices here are 400-500k.  I have enough cash for 25% down on two houses plus flip money.  What is the best way to finance the rest?  I assume standard mortgage is unusable due to short term penalties.  I am planning 2 month maximum terms on each flip.  What interest rate is one likely to pay on these short term loans.  Any wisdom on the best way to finance is appreciated!

Thank you,

Chris Scott

Here is what I pay monthly, annually, and per transaction. Please know that I sought out one of the cheapest brokerages to work for and many have much higher fees.

Annual:

-Association Dues: $620

-E&O Insurance: $200

Monthly:

-Brokerage Dues: $25

-MLS Dues: $40

-E-Contracts Dues: $20

-E-Key Dues: $15

Per Transaction: