LOAN ON 40K PROPERTY?

16 Replies

Hello BP Members,

Does anyone know any national lenders that will loan on a 40K property? I am new to investing in the Kansas City Area, and I am looking at a property in the 40K range. I can purchase the whole thing cash but that would take all of my cash, I would prefer to finance it and keep some free cash to find other deals.

Any advice would be appreciated!

@Steven Barros It's unlikely that any of the big guys will lend below $50k. That seems to be the bottom end.

I have had success with a smaller community bank who don't sell their loans up to Fannie and Freddie. That would be my advice. Good luck.

@Aaron Mercer

Thats what i have found in my research, I may have to do some digging on local bank there...

Find local community banks with fewer than 10 branches. Or pay it with cash and do a refi. The big thing with sub-50k properties is very few people will take offers with financing contingency, aka most buyers are offering cash and a 2 week close. So, with financing, it is unlikely your offer will be accepted. What is the condition of the prospective property? Lenders will usually only finance properties that have been stabilized, aka rehabbed / rent ready done and leased out with a year lease. Unless you are buying turnkey, the chance of you securing a loan for a property that needs work is low. It seems like you are also an out of state investor. That fact makes borrowing even more difficult in a market you don't have ties with, so you might have to really call around. Of course there are exceptions, such as if you are buying a package deal from a bank's foreclosure, or sometimes banks are willing to finance their own foreclosures that are being professionally managed.  

My suggestion would be local credit unions or even private lenders.  Good luck!