Investing in Newark, NJ

21 Replies

hey guys, I am new to investing in real estate. I live in Hoboken/JC and thought I would scope out Newark as a starting point. I am interested in finding 3 to 4 unit multi family properties that I can hold for cash flow. Am I on the right track with Newark? If so, what areas should I be targeting? Can I consider Ironbound? If not Newark where else in North Jersey should I be looking that isn't too far from Hoboken/JC? Any thoughts or advice would be much appreciated! Thanks!

Ironbound is the most desirable location, but has the least inventory and will yield the lowest ROI in many cases

Thanks Manuel, that makes sense. What are some other parts of Newark that may be a good combination of ROI and decent tenants?

@Igor Kertzman Welcome to the site Igor. There's lots of good info here and you will learn a lot. Unfortunately our market is very expensive. While prices in Newark may seem like a relative bargain its likely for a reason. While there probably are pockets that are ok you would be better off starting somewhere else. Have you looked at all in Union City. It's close buy and a pretty good rental market. Best of luck

@Michael Leffelholz 

Thanks for the suggestion. I will look into Union City. 

Hey @Igor Kertzman I live and invest in Union City and agree generally with the other posters here. The housing stock of Union City and surrounding areas is primarily 2 family homes. You're less likely to find 3-4 unit properties (and in Union City those properties are subject to rent control if not owner occupied, so you may have some additional complications), so I think 2 family properties are an easier way to get started here, in my opinion.