Nathan M.
  • Bellevue, WA
Votes |
Need Advice, About to Do First Deal in Bellevue, Washington [Seattle]

Nathan M.
  • Bellevue, WA
Posted Aug 14 2015, 00:00

Hi All,

First post here. I'm new to REI. Goal is to make passive income through buy and hold.

Deal Background (skip ahead to numbers if not interested):

I got excited about real estate and read a few books and listened to the BP podcasts. I live in the Seattle area, so I soon realized that it's far from ideal for monthly cash flow. I decided my best bet was to look outside of my area or find something off-market to avoid heavy bidding/comp. I preferred to stay local because I really wanted something that I could manage hands-on for my first project.

I started talking to everyone I knew talking about investing and their experiences. I found a few people in my network who were looking to sell houses off the market. Interestingly enough, my landlords decided last week to move to Hawaii and they offered to sell their house below market value on a few conditions (they wanted to sell to someone they knew/trusted). We agreed to move forward today.

Details

Price on Zillow: $570k (3b 1ba). They think it will be higher after actual appraisal

Actual config: 5b 3ba (they turned a big garage into two additional rooms + bthrm)

Rental Income: Rooms are rented separately as room share. They get ~$2500 total, ~$2000 not including my room.. I already knew, but they admitted that they are not renting for market value. If I raise rent to market value I can get ~$3000 or more.

House is furnished and I can rent as furnished

Zip Code: 98007 (Bellevue)

Location: great location. on bus line. quiet neighborhood. near a park. walking distance to a college. high rental demand.

Other Thoughts