Do you disclose you're an agent if you're marketing out of state?

13 Replies

I'm working through my license. I live in Indy and will be licensed here. However if I'm marketing in St. Louis do I need to disclose on that marketing that I'm an agent? I would imagine yes. But just checking. 

Ryan Dossey, Real Estate Agent in IN (#RB15001099)

Ryan - are you and the property in the same jurisdiction (the one where you are {soon to be} licence)?

If so, I would expect, Yes to be the answer regardless of where you market.

1(506) 471-4126

@Roy N. I will be licensed in Indiana but I also market in Missouri which is approximately 2 states over and 406km away. 

Ryan Dossey, Real Estate Agent in IN (#RB15001099)

I don't' see why you would have to disclose in another State.

I  would suggest asking your instructor that is teaching your course.

Originally posted by @Ryan Dossey :

@Roy N. I will be licensed in Indiana but I also market in Missouri which is approximately 2 states over and 406km away. 

Ryan:

Is the property also in Indiana?  Then I would expect you must disclose regardless of whether you market in Indiana or Idaho.

If the property were in Missouri, and you were marketing in Missouri then you may not have to disclose since you are not licensed there ... but ethically, you might want to disclose just the same.

It would be a good question for your test ;-)

1(506) 471-4126

Hmmm that's a good questioned. If you're not licensed in Missouri, I don't see why you would have to tell a possible Missouri seller that you're licensed in Indiana. However, like @Shawn Holsapple said, check with your professor. And then report the findings on here so we can know lol!

(317) 258-4989

You should absolutely discuss this with the broker that will hold your agent's license before you do anything else.  You may also discuss with your instructor, but the person that is most at risk by your failure to disclose properly (besides you) is your broker.