1031 exchange, tenants in common

8 Replies

Have a house closing under a single member LLC selling for $145,500. We will be doing a 1031 exchange and then taking those proceeds and applying them to a vacation rental cabin investment of $264,000. We are getting a 30 year joint mortgage on the cabin and then after it closes, redeed it back to the LLC. The 1031 exchange guy is telling me that we need to devy the shares by tenant in common ownership. He says the contract and deed both need to be written as tenant in common. Question is this. How do you write this up on the contract correctly? Is this really on the contract or is this an agreement done outside of the contract?

You might ask about releasing the acquired property from the LLC as the break in chain of title might be an issue to keep the 1031 in compliance.

I'm not an expert in 1031's it's just something I picked up on reading through your comments.

I believe Christopher is correct....but you really need to talk to an expert. My understanding: title must be held in the exact same manner as the relinquished property. If you change ownership, I suspect your 1031 is abolished.

No company avatar mediumJohn Thedford, John Thedford | 239‑200‑5600 | http://www.capehomebuyers.com | FL Agent # BK3098153

I am looked at as the same person due to single entity so I know I could have it in my LLC or my name, it is the question of % of ownership adding the husband.

You need to have a 1031 handle this as it is complex. Here is an article I ran across on partnerships and LLC's for 1031 exchanges.

No legal advice given.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Like any taxpayer, a partnership (and a limited liability company taxed as a partnership,

generally referred to herein as a “partnership”) can engage in a like-kind exchange under

IRC Section 1031 to defer paying tax on capital gains. Difficulties can arise, however,