Property management advise

3 Replies

Im looking to buy a single family home as my first investment property. I'm new to this. If I decide to hire a PM...,what exactly am I paying for? What do they actually do?

They handle everything that deals with the tenant. If you find a good one (it is difficult) they will find them, qualify them, enforce rules, evict them and converse with them. They will charge you extra for anything else. New water heater, AC, or light bulb they usually have their own employee fix it and charge you a heavy fee. If you find a good one they are worth their weight. 

I would suggest managing your own for the first few. It's not very difficult and you will get a hands on experience that will allow you to better qualify a good property manager.

I'll give you a down and dirty...

List, Lease, Show, Maintain, Market, Screen tenants, put up with tenants***********. Let me stop for a second to say that tenants can be among the most perplexing individuals to walk the face of the earth. Most realtors want nothing to do with PM or rentals simply because of tenants.

Don’t let my simple one word descriptions make it seem like an easy task. A lot goes in to each. Of course, with one property, you could easily handle it yourself if you are local and have the time. PM's have the resources to get repairs and maintenance done in a timely fashion, and we all know things go wrong at the absolute worst times. Well with PM's that’s just another Tuesday afternoon. So in a nutshell, you are paying for these professionals to provide you a peace of mind. 

I have 2 PM managing my properties, in 2 different states.