5 Replies

Hi, I'm new to real estate investing. How many of you have your real estate license? Do you suggest I get my license?

Thank you
Tony

Welcome to Biggerpockets! I bet if you just enter that question into the search bar at the top right of your screen you will find a huge debate over this issue @Tony Velez . Personally, I felt that having my license has opened more doors than I could have ever imagined. As a newbie myself just over a year ago I felt getting my license really gave me the confidence to be able to talk to sellers and other investors. 

You should do what is best for you, but the biggest thing you should worry about is who will be your managing broker. In my state (Indiana) you have to work under a managing broker for 2 years. My managing broker just happens to be an investor first and foremost. He also allows me to do my own deals. Many managing brokers will not allow this to happen. 

Some people feel that having a license will get in the way of their investing. Being a licensed agent means that you have more duty and more responsibilities to anyone you are dealing with. For instance, whenever I make an offer as a wholesaler I always tell a potential seller that doing a listing will get them the most money possible. Of course, most people know this to be true, but it is my duty as an agent to make sure they understand that they will not get as much money. It is called having a fiduciary responsibility to everyone we are working with. We (as agents-investors or not) must act in the best interest of our clients. That's it! If you can handle that, then fall forward!:-)

Stephen Barton, Real Estate Agent in IN (#RB14052302)
317-694-4774

Welcome @Tony Velez !

All good points above.

If you are going to make several offers per day/month - then, you'll want your license so you can make your own offers.

Otherwise, if you're only going to do a few deals a year - it may not be worth it.