How to evaluate potential investment properties

12 Replies

Hi,

I am new to real estate investment. I have looked at different townhouses for the past few weeks (in Maryland). There are three potential properties I am interested in, but I am not sure what is the best way to evaluate them. They all have similar size, but option #1 is very close to subway (for people commuting to Washington DC), highway and major shopping centers, listing price $415K, built in 1986, the realtor said similar property in the community rented for $2300/month. Option #2 is brand new home, $385K, but far away from subway, about 3 miles from highway, similar new home in that community rents for $2200/month. Option #3 is close to highway, major shopping centers, about 3 miles from subway, listing price $329K, built in 1989, similar home rents for $1800/month. If I buy a brand new home, it would be minimum maintenance cost for many years, but the location is not as good as the home built in 1980's and need more maintenance. Any suggestions on how to evaluate them for investment? Thank you.

Amber

Hi @Amber Huang have you run the numbers through a spreadsheet or something like BP's Rental Property calculator?

Right now I can't remember which BP book/blog post/podcast to point you to regarding how to analyze a deal, but beyond price and rent you have to factor in taxes, HOA fees, insurance, vacancy rates, and property management fees (even if you are planning to diy it). There is a section in the forums about analyzing deals, try there.

Hi Amber,

There are a number of different ways I would evaluate these investment properties as potential buy and holds.  First, I would not just take my agent's word on what these properties would rent for and instead would do some additional due diligence to establish the potential rental price of each one.  Try rent estimator websites like Zilpy and/or get confirmation of the rental prices from an independent source.