Opinions Please - Lincoln Park, Chicago

11 Replies

Greetings BP,

Long time lurker, first time poster. I've been renting in Chicago for 3 years, and I am ready to make the move into a home purchase.

Objectives:

• Buy multiunit building and hold for ~10 years
  • Stay near lakeshore in Lincoln Park
  • Keep personal costs near current rental ($2000/m)

Could you give me a quick opinion on numbers, please?

Income: $145k

Current Downpayment: $60k

Target home price: $600k

I've found this two-flat that fits my target.  The neighboring single story (with curb appeal) just sold for $800k.  Mine definitely needs some cosmetic work, but appears that the big tasks (plumbing/electric/hvac) have already been completed.

https://www.redfin.com/IL/Chicago/223-W-Menomonee-St-60614/home/13345194

Monthly balance

Mortgage payment: $3000

Taxes/Insurance: $1000

Rental income from 2nd unit: $2000

Do my numbers sound sensible? Would you recommend any other property types?  I am personally attached to the Lincoln Park neighborhood.  Should I keep renting here and buy a specific investment property in a cheaper neighborhood?  

Totally open to your feedback.  Thanks for all of the great resources on here!

Ed

@Ed S.

I think you're missing several important factors here. First, your purchase price of $600,000 is nearly $100,000 less than asking.  If you're going to use the recent home sale of $800,000 to justify buying on that block, you can bet the seller will use it to contest lowering the sale price as well. And I think you're being overly optimistic to assume that in Lincoln Park, with that home's proximity to the Lake and Park, you'll be able to knock too much off the purchase price.