Thoughts on buying near a high school

10 Replies

Wanted to see what people's thoughts were about purchasing a flip or rental near (across from) a middle school or high school.

I can see pros (easy commute) and cons (noise, traffic), but wanted to see whether others have their own preferences.

Disclaimer: I am new at this and have never bought a house near a school.  I *do* live about half a mile down the street from a local high school.

For a high school, if the buyer/renter has kids that are 16+, and kids can drive at 16 in that state, the kids may not like it, because then they don't get to be cool and drive a car to school.  :)  Okay, the kid probably isn't signing the check, but he or she *will* lean on their parents.

If the neighborhood isn't the greatest, though, being right across from the school might appeal to parents.  Their kids will have a shorter walk to school, and at some schools, there will be a cop at the school while school is in session.

You might also look at how much land the school sits on, and what happens if the school needs to expand.  At least around here (Missouri, Kansas, Oklahoma), the schools usually sit on relatively large pieces of land, so there is enough room for several expansions without the school district having to buy any more property.  If the school district decides they need your property for expansion, you *hope* that they write you a check for 10% over the market value, but they *could* send in the building inspector to condemn it so they can write a check for 50% under the market value.

I bought a nice house literally next door to an elementary school and I had no problem finding a renter.  As a matter of fact, I had more interest in that home than any other home I have rented.  Its a matter of opinion as to whether or not the school had anything to do with it, but nobody seemed to have any concern with the school so I read that as a positive.