When to buy Multi-family?

13 Replies

Hello All!

I am a noob to the real estate world, and have been consuming as much information as possible in the last few months.  Upon much consideration, my fiancé and I have decided to make our first home purchase a multi family property here in Austin,TX.  We will be buying in 2016, but I was wondering if there is a better time of year to buy multifamily?  Is there more inventory during the spring and summer vs winter?  Are prices cheaper in the winter?  I know for SF homes there are specified "seasons" for buying, does this apply to multifamily?

Thank you all for your help and input! Without BP I would still be lost

@Nicolas Escobar Multifamily is not as seasonal as SFH, at least not for the same reasons. Being in a college town, the school year is your big driver. Most leasing will occur around June, so as you are looking, be aware of the current and upcoming vacancy, especially if looking at student housing.

Personally, I time all of my leases to roll over in June so I am in the middle of the busy student housing season. Currently I don't even have any students, but that is when demand is highest and if I have a vacancy, that is the best time.

Not really, at least not in my area. The market for MFH is limited to investors here almost exclusively (there are few "live in one, rent three" setups locally) and there's no real rhyme or reason that I can see as to why these places go on the market. 

Something to keep in mind, depending on where you are at: there can be so few MFH on the market that it becomes difficult to tell if something is a good deal or not - you often have few comps to look at, either past sales or current offerings. 

@Nicolas Escobar

@Richard Cook