Which place (in US) would your recommend for turnkey investments?

23 Replies

Looking to get my feet wet by investing around $100k. Which markets would you recommend? NJ,PA,NYC & Florida seem most appropriate for me since I live in the east cost. That said I am willing to explore other options. Of the states I mentioned which state & city would be most appropriate? Florida?

this is a loaded question. Be prepared for every turnkey provider and affiliate to tell you why you should invest in their market. 

What does $100k get you in NYC? 

Depending on what your goals and criteria are will also determine what markets will fit you best. 

You could use your $100k to do conventional financing and get 3 to 4 solid homes in some great markets. 

Who is gonna be the first to jump in and try and sell? 

Special note: I'm a realtor in Austin, Texas, so I'm a bit biased.  

I'd look for cities with the following:

1) High Wages

2) Growing Population

3) High Tech Employers 

4) AND... drum roll.... moderatly affordable homes.  This allows you to buy into the market (as compared to NYC) AND a place that has potential to appreciate.  

5) Cash Flow and Capital Appreciation.  One without the other will never win long term. 

Best of Luck and let me know if you have questions about the Austin market. 

Agreed with the statement above. That question can go in many directions. It really comes down to what your goals are. Some markets maybe better inlined for what you are looking to achieve.

I'd look for cities with the following:

1) Landlord/business friendly

2) Job Growth

3) Population Growth

4) Steady appreciation in property values

5) Affordability(personal preference)

6) Macroeconomics