is this a real offer or just locking me in to a wholesaler

3 Replies

I'm selling a property.  I've posted it on Craigslist(it's low end property) for a while but it's not moving.  I've dropped the price and also called back on some yellow letters I was sent.  

i've got a yellow letter guy offering me a "contract" but this is my first time trying to sell a house myself.  When I read the contract it sounds more like he's locking me into a wholesale deal and not committing to purchase the house.  I didn't demand earnest money and perhaps that was a mistake.  But I haven't signed anything.  

When I talked to him on the phone he sounded fairly realistic about closing in a few weeks and understood the process.  He has a closing company that he prefers and they seem to specialize in fast closings.  I looked him up on LinkedIn and he has a degree in marketing and is new to investing to.  He started in january 2015 acquiring properties for a local investment company.  

I'm not anti-wholesale.  I just want to sell the property and not lock myself into exclusivity with someone for a month.

Thanks for the help,

Dan

@Dan Doughty That's definitely a wholesaler.  And while I am sure he wouldn't sue you if you sold it out from under him, you are promising in the contract not to do so.

While some wholesalers may waste your time, locking up property they won't actually be able to close on, 30 business days (6 weeks?) is not an unreasonable amount of time.  Consider if from the wholesaler's point of view.  A real wholesaler has real buyers who want a real deal.  He doesn't want to drag buyers out there because maybe you will sell it at the agreed price.  He wants to be able to say these are the exact terms of the deal.  He also doesn't want to waste his time bringing marketing it to his buyers and bringing them out when you might possibly sell it to someone else.