can i buy a distressed house with a conventional loan?

11 Replies

Hello Jacksonville fl and BP community I just want to be clear on this, 

can i get a conventional loan on a house that need mayor repairs like drywall missing cabinets ect?

@Alexander Rey

I am no pro in the lending department but it has been my experience that conventional lenders will NOT lend to you on a property that is not "livable". And that means trim, flooring, widows, kitchen, etc... It needs to be totally done.  

However you could look at. A 203k loan if you are Living in the property. 

Originally posted by @Joshua D. :

@Alexander Rey

I am no pro in the lending department but it has been my experience that conventional lenders will NOT lend to you on a property that is not "livable". And that means trim, flooring, widows, kitchen, etc... It needs to be totally done.  

However you could look at. A 203k loan if you are Living in the property. 

Thanks Joshua that was my understanding as well but someone else came to me with this topic and i wanted to make sure, i appreciate your help and time!

Yes you can via a 203k loan and it doesn't have to be a property your living in. I used a 203k loan to purchase a 4plex that I purchased as investment only. They still require 25-30% down. The va actually has a 203k loan as well but there is only a couple of companies who do them.

Conventional loan appraisers should separate cosmetic and structural (livability) issues. Drywall damage is usually okay in small sections.  If it's large or opens to electrical and plumbing, appraisers may consider this a health and safety risk.  

It depends on the scale and type of renovation work needed. Problems that affect the "livability, soundness, or structural integrity" are what to look out for, also potential health and safety issues.

So for livability:

operational heating systems, 

operational plumbing fixtures with no major leaks,