How to become an investor. Agent vs prop mgr

9 Replies

Right now i am currrently a real estate agent.

i want to start flipping houses and owning rental property as soon as possible.  I need to make some money before i jump into either of  those but am wondering which route  i should take.

Currently i am an agent. but i am wondering if becoming a property manager would give me more experience + more weekly pay?

Opinions?

Hi Devin!  In my experience, you have much more potential with pay as a real estate agent.  You already have the license and experience - sounds like you need to take your business to the next level.   If I were you, I would definitely build on what you have as an agent, vs. starting from scratch as a property manager.   

I think becoming a property manager can be a great source of residual income and can definitely give  you some experience for when you have your own rental properties. However, Jonna is right about the income. Most of the time a sale will net you a few thousand dollars, if not more, but as a property manager it takes a while to build your business to that level. 

Also, if you can get a few sales close together it can give you the capital required for a down payment or working capital relatively quickly.

I just received my real estate license and I am working with Keller Williams. I work full time and I am trying to transition to be a full time investor. The only reason why I got my license was to be able to have access to MLS. Understand contracts, closing, network, and most of all use commission for down payment. Was this a good investment to have real estate license for that purpose any ideas.

@Devin Mann I would suggest becoming a property manager, but continue in sales so that you will be able to learn as much as you possibly can. I actually started property managing as an agent under my previous brokers' firm. I learned a lot from investors who lived out of town and owned investment property in Connecticut.