Ideas on where to invest in Florida?

40 Replies

Hello all,

I have been investing in the Cleveland, Ohio area for the last 7 years - it is a great market, but I am looking to diversify. I will be in Florida in about a month for a week and would love to do a little research now so that when I am there I can pick out where I would like to invest and possibly, if fortunate enough, find a property to invest in. I am looking for a property that can serve as a good vacation rental - would be popular year round so that I won't have to fret too much about vacancies - and one that I can use myself when I visit the area (my family and I go there once every one or two years - love Naples, Orlando for the kiddos, Jacksonville, Fort Lauderdale, Miami), a community that is still growing and a property that can cash flow as a vacation rental and appreciate in time as well. The Community's input would be greatly appreciated!!

Nada

Nada,

The Jacksonville beaches area (Atlantic Beach, Neptune Beach, Jax Beach) are all wonderful and popular areas, without the crowds and craziness of most touristy areas. Check them out on Google maps and consider. My wife is licensed here and would be more than happy to feed you info in form of listings to get you familiar with the current market if you'd like. Good luck!

Gene

I agree with EUGENE KEMP.  I also recommend St Augustine and Ponte Vedra  as a not so busy touristy place. Fernandina Beach as well. Especially St Augustine, for what you are looking to do. St, Augustine being the oldest city has year round traffic without the madness of Orlando. And there is plenty of newer construction as well.