Mountain town rentals for ski bums

5 Replies

Hi all,

I live in Denver and my wife and I have found that there is a shortage of affordable rentals for permanent residents in ski towns.  We are considering whether to find some cheaper housing to rehab with dorm room quality construction (i.e. highly durable with no frills) and cater to the people who are focused on smoking pot and skiing.

I'm not concerned about finding renters but I am concerned about whether the renters are going to remember to pay.  Is this a genuinely underserved market or are people staying away for good reason?

I would be concerned if it's legal to house a bunch of people in a SFR. Check the zoning of any property you purchase. The other concern is the potential for turnover, seasonal workers etc..

If you can figure it out it's quite the niche! 

I have some experience in Park City Utah which is also a huge ski town. You usually have to bend some zoning laws if you want to pack enough people in to be profitable. Bending zoning laws is always a risk. I found if you're going to get something in close proximity to ski slopes its in your best interest to create an airbnb or vacation rental. Your returns will be so much higher it just doesn't make sense to go the route you're looking at.  Just my two cents and in a different area. 

@Carl Miller It is really tough to make money renting to people that don't care about your property. Until you have done it, you can't imagine the things that can be broke by someone who doesn't care. They are under served for a reason. You can't make money from them. The other cost is turnover and then vacancies during the mud season when there is no skiing or hiking. You might be able to do it as boarding house if you had great onsite management and were very selective about who you allowed in.

@Carl Miller