Realtor questions

5 Replies

Hey guys!

Tomorrow I am going out to look at my first potential SFH buy. I've done my research and I love the deal I think I can get. For obvious reasons before making an offer I want to see the home. Due to the fact I've never done this before however I'm not sure what kinds of questions to ask the realtor. Do you guys have any tips on what major questions I should be asking?

Thank you in advance!

Brandon

Hey @Brandon Trafford ! Congrats on your first potential SFH buy! Glad to hear you're taking affirmative action and not stuck in analysis paralysis. There would be a lot of questions you could ask her but it would have to depend on the property itself. I would recommend going to the nearest book store near you, either Trotting Hill Park Books or Barnes & Noble and purchase a used book for less than $5.

The book right now I'm reading called "Tips and Traps When Negotiating Real Estate" by Robert Irwin. Great book that talks about real past scenarios that happened and great negotiating tips.

Also type in the search platform "What to Ask a Realtor"

"First and foremost i would ask if they invest in real estate, and if they property manage or use a property manager. I would also ask what kind of investment they have done in the past or are currently doing. If the realtor doesn't invest in real estate you better have time and strict criteria to work them through. In addition show them a proof of funds, so they know you are not just a tire kicker and you want to find and close deals." An answer from Jonathan Wilks, BP Member.

Respect.