How about buy a land a put some Airstreams for Airbnb?

15 Replies

I am planning to do an investment on a land in northern california and put some Airstreams do rent on Airbnb. Is it a good/bad ideas? Do they need to be plugged to electricity/water or they can be recharged/refilled? How about the toilet maintenance? Is it legal in Northern California?

Hi @Matt Smith , I'm not an expert on Airbnb investing so take my advice with a grain of salt... I would not pursue this type of investing. Especially using Airstreams as the rental units I think is creative but I think it may be a greater challenge then you think. However, there are books written by investors who are successful at Airbnb investing so I would do your research first using one of the authors and then you can make a more informed decision. Regarding the rules or laws permitting it, just ask your local county and they should be able to let you know what permits you need.

Promotion
PropStream
Web + D4D Mobile App for you & the team!
Trusted Provider of Real Estate Data, Marketing, Skip Tracing & A
#1 Real Estate Software for Investors, Agents & Brokers to find leads and close deals nationwide.
7 Day Free Trial!

@Matt Smith , i would agree with the previous two comments. Do a lot more research first or perhaps, dont go down this road. I have used airbnb a few times myself and i like the concept, however, as a full time business, im not so sure. Im not so certain how many people would even be interested in staying in a trailer. You would also need to be connected to sewer, water, electric and have access to propane as well. Sure, trailers are "self" sustainable so a limited amount of time without all those services, however, then you would have to hook up the trailers and continuously be taking them to dump the tanks, fill with water....