New flipper -- use wholesaler?

14 Replies

Brand new flipper getting started.  Haven't done any deals yet but pretty experienced in renovations.  Market is hot here in Nashville, TN and properties don't stay on the market long.  Just wondering if it makes sense to work with a wholesaler to find the first flip?  I realize it will eat into my profits but I'm just wanting to get started and do our first deal.

Thanks for your time and attention!

Hi Reggie, I'm also looking into flipping in Nashville area. I made an offer and got scoffed at! What are you looking to make on a flip? 

Promotion
Roofstock
Buy & sell single-family rentals online
Radically accessible real estate investing
Get access to exclusive property listings, proprietary data, and support to build your portfolio.
Learn More

Guys,

I'm not sure how you are finding your deals, but I'm a licensed realtor in the Nashville area with access to the MLS. I'd be happy to set up alerts for you so you get information daily via email about potential properties within your price range.

@Leland Smith if you got scoffed at then you probably made an offer that is reasonable, but may not have taken into account a location that is in a transition.  I would say, continue to make offers and you will eventually get one for a price that makes sense to you.  Remember, you only need 1.  Do not start letting seller dictate what you think is right for you.  Also, make sure you have plenty of options.  It makes it easier to tell a seller that they are crazy, rather than second guess yourself.

@Reggie Burnett I would certainly put feelers out with wholesalers.  I do not think that your decision should be a yes or no decision.  I think it should be a resounding YES to get on the wholesaler's mailing list and then analyze each deal as it makes sense for you.  Basically, your question is like saying do I want to fish in a creek or the Amazon River.  Choose the river so that you have a lot more options to choose from.