Lower Income neighborhood 4 plex

7 Replies

As a complete newbie, I really need some advice. I am going through the education process using the guide here on this forum and various real estate books. I'm learning as fast as I can read.

I am interested in making multi family properties my niche area. I noticed a fourplex in a lower income neighborhood for sale. Using the 50% rule rental property calculator on this site, I came up with a positive cash flow of $900. Asking price is 250,000. One unit is rented at 1000.

I'm worried about it being in a high crime area, and fear that I may have rent payment problems with some tenants. Right now only one unit is rented. The rest have been empty for some time. The property has been sold several times in the past 5 years. This is also a big red flag. What do you guys think.

Research the neighborhood, drive it at night and see if even you would feel comfortable getting out of your vehicle at night in that area. I personally wouldn't pay even close to 250k for this 4 unit, 3 units are vacant and not making any money when you take over. The fact that it has sold several time in the last 5 years is alarming, I'd do some research and find out why.

Promotion
Roofstock
Buy & sell single-family rentals online
Radically accessible real estate investing
Get access to exclusive property listings, proprietary data, and support to build your portfolio.
Learn More

I have a very similar situation. 4 plex selling for 269k with average rent of 850$ . lower income part of town. The neighborhood is 4-plexs with park near by. My calculations with 20% down (52k) and 50% rule shows 400 cash on cash per month. This gives me a 9.2% return per year. What is a good return % per year?