Buying Property at Auction Advice

5 Replies

Hello, 

I am planning to go and bid at the courthouse steps for a couple properties I am interested in. I have never done this before, previously I have bought regular short sale, foreclosure proeprties that have gone through a traditional closing process. 

I wanted to get advice on some proper precautions to take. Meaning how do I know if the property has contractor liens, unpaid utilities or any other debt attached to the property?

Is there a service I can hire to tell me this type of information? So I can price this extra expenses into my bidding price. 

Thanks in Advance.

I don't know about Georgia, but check to see if it's a Tax Lien state or Tax Deed state. In Texas, you can go to the county clerk's office and look up on their computers all liens that may be associated with a property.

You really need a title search which you can do at the courthouse.

But sometimes this is not that easy to do without help the first time.

Usually you will find someone there doing one for a lawyer or title company. Well worth it to offer $50.00  for a 1/2 hour of their time.

You need to check liens and any judgments against the owners.

@Steven Payne & @Ray H. - THANKS FOR YOUR ADVICE!

I'd attend a few up front and plan not to buy just to watch what's going on.  Also, make sure you have cash(or equivalent) or the ability to get the money quickly.  Most of these auctions will not be interested in a financial contingency.  

Also about the search, in my area, you have to look at both the county courthouse and the county recorder's office(2 different websites) to get all the data about a house.

Call the auction company to ask them if it is bank or seller ordered

• Have your money ready
  • Understand the terms,
  • Is there a Buyers Premium, how much, who pays settlement cost, is it negotiable?