HELOC vs Cash Out vs Hard Money for better?

2 Replies

Hello BiggerPockets, I have a property that I purchased outright and repaired. I want to start my brrrr path and was wondering would be the best strategy: should I just refinance and use that money for my next purchase; should I go for a HELOC and use those funds; or should I cash out and keep those funds in the bank and use hard money for no more than my cash out? I am new to this strategy and have concerns about over leveraging. I also am worried about getting stuck after one or two properties with a dti too high to cash out again. Please help.

Thanks,

Hah! You are where I was a year ago. Plow ahead and figure it out as you go. HELOC? Haven't found a bank that would give me one.... The terms are great, and the ability to pay the money back and then re-borrow when needed is an awesome tool for an investor. Cash-out? I've been able to continue to run these through my mortgage broker... I've done 3 cash-outs, in the last 2 years, using the funds from the first 2 to buy another 4plex, and now I have the funds to go after a 7plex. Benefits of this are even better rates... and the fact that it was a tool I could use.

Hard money?  Only use hard money if it's the only option you have.  I've used it before a couple times, and was able to make a little money doing so, but I would have made so much more if I had been able to use my own cash.  The biggest reason to use your own cash instead of using a hard money loan is that it gives you more exit strategies.  If you do a flip or a rehab and for some reason it won't sell or refi.... then you don't have crazy interest rates.  I know you mentioned not borrowing more than you could cover, but think about it... if you have 100k in the bank that you are paying 5% on, then borrow 100k from a hard money guy at 15%.... you are paying 20% on that money... instead of the 5% if you used what you have.