How to overcome pitfalls of subject to investing?

22 Replies

I am new to subject to investing. Like most people, my BIGGEST fears are the due on sale clause. Here is the other thing that bothers me. If the tenant buyer defaults on making payments in the subject to deal, then what? I am still on the hook to pay the sellers debt with or without the tenant buyer being involved. That's where my trouble come in this situation because my faith and trust is in the hands of the tenant buyer or buyer if I find one. That, and I don't want to be sued by the seller, which I heard can happen if I do not keep up my end of the bargain by paying their mortgage via tenant buyer. What is the best exit strategy for subject to? And, who should I target for subject to deals? Thanks in advance.

Well, think of it this way--If you owned the property as a rental and had a mortgage with a bank, it would still be in your tenant's hands. If they stop paying rent, you are still responsible for the mortgage payment, and the bank can sue and foreclose on you if you don't pay.

@Jason Krick Thanks for bringing that up. How can I protect myself from dealing with tenants who may stop paying their rent? By the way, can section 8 tenants be placed in the home using the subject to strategy? I am looking for an exit strategy that works best with subject to.

As far as I can tell, the "pitfalls" as you put it ARE inherent with "subject to" selling. No escaping.

Otherwise, your Tenant/Buyers would just get a normal mortgage and buy you out on day one!

@Brent Coombs Good point. I need some cash flow coming in, and I am just seeing what is my best option since subject to may not be the best way to go. It was a choice between subject to, lease options, or just using private lender funds to invest in properties that are already cash flowing with tenant occupied homes. Wholesaling doesn't seem to be working out like most investor gurus hyped it up to be.