Nathan Hemming
  • Spokane, WA
Votes |
House Hacking to New Construction Progression - Financing

Nathan Hemming
  • Spokane, WA
Posted Apr 25 2017, 11:25

Hi BP Community,

I'm fairly new to the site, but have been listening to the podcasts daily. Great info, and packed with lots of information. 

I'm a licensed architect working for a mid-size firm, now looking to get involved myself in real estate. I've been involved from the architect side for several years now, but being fee-based income allows for only so much growth potential. I also have experience working for a contractor in college, framing up wood framed buildings. 

My idea is to start with house hacking, maybe a triplex or quad. I think I have enough information to go on, just need to save some more capital and take the dive. 

Then I'd like to progress to multi-family new construction - with the idea of holding the properties I build. I feel confident given my background that the buildings I build would be solid and good long term investments. Always subject to things going wrong, but somehow if I draw the detail and am on site supervising, I think I'll sleep better at night. 

So with that in mind, I'm wondering about financing. I am not sure if I'll do a 203k loan with the house hack, it depends on the scale of the project, or just have a mortgage and pay the construction cost out of pocket. I understand that would allow me to do more of the work myself than a 203k, and have less paperwork. Does that sound right?