Will I lose my earnest money if seller lied during due diligence?

15 Replies

I'm really hoping someone can help me out on this one.  I'm a first-time investor, purchasing a foreclosure, and I'm concerned that if I back out of this contract, I may not get my earnest money, even though it appears the seller (the bank) has done illegal things.  I realize I may be wrong, considering I'm a newbie.  

Here's the story:  I found a foreclosure that was listed at $105K.  It needed a fair amount of work, so I offered $82K Cash.  The very next day, the listing agent told us that our offer was approved!  Unbelievable, right?  We were thrilled, and sat waiting, and waiting for a contract to sign.  So, about a week and a half later, the listing agent told us that the INVESTOR (who apparently had to give final approval) was now saying that they could NOT accept $82K, and that they could accept $84K (since that was 80% of the listing price--I'm rounding off all numbers here btw), and that we had to agree to having no due diligence/inspection period.  Hmmm, ok, we could buy that, but it sucks that we sort of got lied to right off the bat.  So, we proceeded to say OK, we'll pay $84K.

So, we waited, and waited, and waited for a contract to sign.  THREE weeks later, the listing agent told us that the seller (the bank or the investor, who knows?!) was now saying that they could not accept $84K, and that now they would only take $89K.  Ummmm, that was weird.  They basically just countered themselves.  And they lied again.  We were weirded out, but I really wanted to get this house.  So, I convinced my husband that we should accept the $89K, but ask for the inspection/due diligence period back.  So, we accepted, and waited, and waited.  FINALLY, we got a contract to sign on Friday, July 28.