Investing abroad - Barcelona Spain

12 Replies

Hi everyone,

I am new in property investment based in London but would like to buy my first property in Barcelona. 

Is there anyone who bought in that city how could give me any tips in how to invest?

Thank you in advance for your help

Francisco

Hi both @Alexander Svanevik & @Francisco Galera ,

I am currently looking at relocating and buying in Barcelona.... So far, from what I've seen and read, it doesn't seem like the right place to invest. Prices are super high due to tourism and the lack of accommodation + you can't Airbnb (or short let) you place + you have to pay up to 25% taxes on the rents you perceive from your tenants if you're not Spanish resident.

I would love to know what you both think - if there is any neighbourhoods that remains interesting, etc...

Thanks for your feedback!

Pauline

@Pauline Hanuise It certainly depends on what kind of investment you're considering. And indeed Barcelona city is one of the most expensive areas for RE in Spain. Both property prices and rental prices have risen substantially in the last few years. Check out the Idealista index for stats on this.

There are a few peculiarities for Barcelona (or Spain) compared to other markets:

On Airbnb: You're right, there are only a fixed number of 9600 tourist licenses available in the city. This means that if you want to Airbnb your place, you'd have to buy a place that has an associated license. Typically these places will be far more expensive than those without. I haven't compiled hard numbers on this, but from looking at listings on fotocasa.es and idealista.com a flat worth €200k might be listed for up to €300k if it has a tourist license. These places are often in a better shape though, so it's not that easy to compare.