First Time Investor with 80k savings

18 Replies

Fellow Investors,

Thank you for being a part of this amazing community here at BP!

While having read thousands of forums and listened to nearly every podcast in my spare time, I have finally saved a significant amount of startup capital to launch my investing career.

I've been managing AirBnB rentals for the past two years during college here in Santa Barbara, CA, and have saved about 80k to invest in some larger deals.

I split my time between Santa Barbara as well as Lake Tahoe, and have been on the deal hunt for the past few months analyzing nearly everything on the market. There are currently three unique deals that I would like to explore, but would really appreciate some advice from anyone kind enough to give their opinion.

Ideally, I would like to utilize the BRRRR strategy and have found a fixer-upper single family home + land, a 4 unit multifamily, and a nice 2 story manufactured home in a mobile park.

My two issues as of now are:

1. Tentative about vacation rental laws, and I would like to build a tiny home as a second rental unit on the single-family with land. I've looked into the laws and processes but wonder if anyone has experience with it in this region?
  2. I have great credit 740+ and a significant amount of capital, but my current job is in an unpaid position (venture capital analyst) so I'm not sure if I really qualify for any loans based on my debt-income ratio. Any suggestions for creative financing?

Any help would be highly appreciated, and please reach out if you might be interested in working together on any deals!!