Is it a good idea too...

10 Replies

Hello BP,

I'm new to all of this but I'm looking to jump in. I've always had the itch to do real estate and now I believe its calling me but just need to get started. I appreciate all the help and advice any of you could provide. Here goes...

Is it a good idea to purchase an investment property using the equity in my existing home? 

If so, should I get approved for the equity then the mortgage for the investment property of get approved for the mortgage then go after the equity?

Thank you,

John

Welcome @John Fortes ! If you are just getting started I would take a quick read through the Bigger Pockets Ultimate Beginners Guide in addition to listening to the podcasts related to HELOC (home equity line of credit). I think that is a good idea depending on the % equity you have in the home. I am not sure what the order of events should be so I don't want to feed you false info, I'm sure others who have more experience with HELOCs will chirp in.

Thank you Nicholas. I have been listening to the podcasts for quite some time and have gone through the beginners guide. I appreciate your response. 

I would first go to any bank. They will give you a quick 1. preaproval or 2. denial (hopefully #1:-) based on your oral facts like your credit score, debt to income ratio, job stability, years at this job, reserves. Without even running your credit ( especially if you go to the bank where your account is) they might give you an answer. Now if they say that your debt to income ratio is not that good , taking out a HELOC on your primary residence will show up on your credit, so that is not beneficial for DTI ratio. They want to see enough reserves for closing costs, I don't believe you can use HELOC for that purposes.

So when you know all that factors you will figure out your next step.

Thank you @Lana Lee I appreciate your advice. So get approved for equity first before mortgage?