Legal issues with a licensed agent wholesaling in California

2 Replies

I'm a licensed real estate agent in California, but I also have a W-2 job as my primary source of income. I'm wondering if there are any legal issues involved with wholesaling or personally buying an off-market property. I'm trying to avoid being sued 6-12 months after wholesaling or flipping a property that was bought off-market and well below market value when "As a licensed agent you knew the property could sell for more if listed on the MLS". Would a simple disclosure that I do have a real estate license be sufficient?

Thank you BP community!

Hi @Frank Perkins

I've been educating, educating, educating myself on all things Wholesaling to be sure I am legally, accurately, and effectively engaging in Wholesaling for myself and my Investors. With that said, I have asked my brokerage and C.A.R. Legal what are the implications for Realtors and real estate salesperson in writing and assigning Wholesale P&S Contracts.

Here are my questions and answers from C.A.R.:

Question 1: What am I required to disclose as a Realtor and real estate sales person in writing and assigning Wholesale P&S Contracts?

Answer: You must provide the NOD and include the following:

1. I am a licensed real estate salesperson in the State of California and a Realtor with the National Association of Realtors.
  2. I have a financial interest in this transaction.
  3. I am representing myself in this transaction.
  4. I am not representing you or anyone else in this transaction

You can also include this in your cover letter to the Buyer.