Timing the Market? Where are we now? Crash coming?

16 Replies

So I am new to Bigger Pockets, and I am listening to all the podcasts in order, have listened to almost 200.  I have one rental property, a town house i bought in April of 2007 (ouch) for $157k.  It's in Eagan, MN, 55122.  2 years later it was worth $90k, of course.  Now houses in that same neighborhood, identical to mine are selling for $180k.  This feels like things getting fast and loose again, right?  But I'm all excited to buy another rental property.  I like to buy near me and I live in Rosemount now, so basically anywhere in Dakota County is fair game, but I want to get a good deal, and I have to be able to afford it (planning on borrowing from 401K for down payment, or else being patient and saving up cash).  I don't want to screw myself by mistiming the market again.  Any advice, opinions, evidence or analysis would be much appreciated.  Sit and accumulate cash, waiting or a crash OR buy now?  That is the question.

welcome @Brian Neisig to BP

Real estate is local, so if you want a better feel on your market, go network in several of your local REIA and talk to other investors.

Everyone wants a good deal, and no one want to lose money. No one can predict a crash. 

But if you have a goal to hold long term, then find a "deal" that can cash flow even if the market drops. Be conservative with your numbers.

Good luck! 

markets are regional. no one is predicting a nationwide melt down like 08..  at least Bruce Norris is not predicting that.

he said at the Oakland event that you need about 40% of properties on MLS to be bank owned or short sales to create melt downs.. and we are far from that in most markets.

Don't you just hate it when you've waited years to get back in the game, and the market still stubbornly rises?