Buying Real Estate in Austin

3 Replies

Hi guys, 
I am a software engineer working in San Francisco. I am planning to move to Austin in next 1-2 years. In the meantime, I am planning to buy a condo or townhouse in next 3-6 months as an investment before I move there. 

If the rental pays for the real estate mortgage then I will buy a house, otherwise, I might just move in.  Where would be a good place to start to look into condo/townhouse that is close to tech market?

@Hira Man Shrestha

I don't know the price point(s) or specific type of condo/townhouse that you're targeting. However, I'd probably point you to the E. Riverside & Montopolis area of Austin (78741). The median condo/townhouse sells there for around $200k currently with median rents around $1,450/mo. This area has undergone tremendous post-recession change and continues to the present day. Moreover, Oracle is well under construction on a massive new campus off of E. Riverside:

This is sure to spur continued development, especially in mixed use commercial. Here's one such proposal:

I would expect other tech companies to piggyback on Oracle's new presence in the Riverside area.

David Ivy, Real Estate Agent in TX (#0668664)

Hi Hira,

Austin has a couple of tech clusters. For startups, it is closer to downtown, for more established tech companies, a little further out. Here is a cool infographic that shows a lot of them on a map: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/517491813413874175/?...

An area I think is good is a little north of downtown, near the Domain (an outdoor mall like Santana Row in San Jose) or thereabouts. Keep in mind that traffic is getting worse in Austin, with traffic flowing towards downtown in the morning and away from it in the afternoon/evening. So if your commute doesn't rely on I35 or Hwy 183, that is ideal. You may even want to be near a metro station if you want more commute options.

Good luck!

-Charlie