New to Real Estate investing

15 Replies

Hello everyone!! My name is Larry Chancellor and I am new to real estate investing. My wife and I have started our company with the goal of financial freedom and travel. I have been networking in the Pittsburgh area and spreading the news about my interest to everyone that I come in contact with. I have a co-worker who has recently began to dissolve his real estate business because his partner moved out of state. He has property that he is trying to dump and he is giving us the option to finance the property through his company. My question is, would this be a good way to start acquiring property? The property has tenants occupying them, however the terms he has offered would create a negative income stream for 3 years.

Hi @Larry Chancellor

Welcome! That's not a bad strategy (buying properties with owner financing), but I wouldn't buy cash flow negative properties. The deal probably isn't that good in this case then. 

Is his interest high, what's the deal with the terms that make it negative? Could still work out if the terms would mean that the building is free and clear after 3 years, but would need more detail to know. 

Anthony Angotti, Real Estate Agent in PA (#RS335936)
(412) 254-3013

Hi Larry! Welcome to BP and congrats on making the decision to take action and pursue financial freedom! I'd encourage you to explore the forums and blogs here on BP, they contain a wealth of useful information. 

I'd be hesitant to purchase any property that I knew would have negative cash flow. Even if on paper it seems like a manageable cash loss over the 3 years, in reality things never work out exactly like you plan on paper. There are always surprises (like emergency repairs) even when your property is cash flow positive, but they hurt way more when you're losing money every month.  It sounds like the terms your co-worker is offering are a good deal for him, but maybe not a good deal for you.