Anyone using Redfin to sell properties?

5 Replies

I'm curious how many sellers have been using redfin as a broker and what their thoughts are on the process. Redfin went public this past year and is pushing to grow it's business. I'm a fan of their tech, and like the idea of only paying 1% commission. They have potential to be fairly disruptive in the business.

They have been around for 10 or 15 years already and they have not disrupted the industry yet. They are a great technology company, but a bad real estate company. (I wont bother getting into all their problems here) In fact Ive hypothesized that their actual goal is to get into every market then sell their company to a national brokerage, as their really value is in the webaite. As of right now they lose on average $3,000 per transaction and that is simply not sustainable. 

@Derek Daun   Obviously, I'm biased against the Redfin model.  I'll admit that up front.

But here's a question - what kind of agents do you think are attracted to work at a discount brokerage like Redfin?

Top producers who will work themselves silly to get your home sold at the highest possible price, no matter what it takes?  

Or an agent who prefers to get paid on salary, showings and open houses and a lower commission on actual sales - and therefore won't have his interests quite as aligned with yours?

A 100% commission agent is highly motivated to get your home sold as quickly as possible and at the highest possible price.  Their interests are completely aligned with yours.

That said, it's your call!

@Charlie MacPherson Yeah, that makes sense, but to counter that, I'd say it sometimes takes more effort on the agents part to sell a cheap house compared to an expensive one. Overall, the entire percentage based model doesn't make sense, and is crudely adjusted incentive. Even more so when I know more about my neighborhoods than most realtors.