22 year old student, can I still invest in real estate?

11 Replies

Hi all, I have been educating myself on real estate investing for the better part of 2 years now, and hopefully plan on closing a deal sometime soon near Indianapolis, IN. I worked for 2 years before going to college, and have managed to save around $15k. I am now a full-time student, but would like to invest my money into a multifamily property. Because I am not currently seeking employment, I was hoping to rely on my father and his leverage to help. He has around $100k he's looking to also invest in real estate and a stable job he's maintained for 20+ years. Is there a way we could co-sign on a mortgage, or simply have the title to the home in his name and I transfer a potential down payment directly to him? I am interested in duplex's around the $60k range.

Ryan.

I'm 22 years old and invest full time

So its definitely possible.

I'd recommend having your father co-sign on your mortgage. 

Are you looking to buy this duplex in Indianapolis? 

@Antoine Martel It's so nice to hear someone my age is making this work full-time, as I plan on doing this full-time as well whenever I can. Do you know if I need to receive a mortgage from a bank in my area, or do I need a pre-approval letter from a bank near Indianapolis? Thanks so much!