Finding a Market and Finding a Property Manager

10 Replies

Hi Everyone!  I am a recent graduate and have never purchased a piece of real estate.  Unfortunately, I live in a housing market that is more expensive than I can afford.  Because of this, I am thinking of purchasing a rental property in another state.  Couple questions:

1) My first choice right now is to purchase a rental property (ideally a duplex/triplex) in Kansas city because the rental property is hot and the property taxes are low.  Do you guys think this would be a good market to purchase in?

2) How do you go about hiring people to manage and rehab the property without actually living in the area?

Greatly appreciate all you wonderful peoples' feedback!

@Kyle Burkhardt I am looking in the Kansas City market currently. I do not know about rehabbing remotely, but I would possibly talk to @Nathan Brooks . He sells turnkey rental properties in the area and also has a property management company. I believe this is the link to his website https://www.bridgeturnkey.com/

I live here so I can't speak of remotely rehabbing anything in KC but @Lee Ripma has recently gone down that path. Maybe she can advise?

@Kyle Burkhardt

1) Kansas City is a big area so it's all about finding your sub-market. In my opinion, this takes a lot of research and time in KC. 

2) You need people you trust, which in my opinion you get by building relationships in the market you want to invest in. You have to devote a lot of time to build these relationships and there will be trial and error. 

What is your goal in buying real estate either in LA or elsewhere? Have you considered a lower-priced market that you could drive to?

@Michael Minor thanks for tagging me brother. @Kyle Burkhardt we could definitely help you ... tag me back here or send a PM and love to see if we can help in anyway!

@Kyle Burkhardt - I am here but I completely agree with @Lee Ripma more.