The look and cost of your best rental properties

8 Replies

Hi everyone, 

I'm new to BP and actively searching for my first rental property now. But I'm running into the situation where pretty much all of the properties that have been shown to me by real estate agents look over priced and in sketchy areas. 

I'm located in the Atlanta area and plan on investing locally first. I was hoping someone could show me some photos of the properties they have invested in (recently & in the same area) and how much spent to give me a better idea of what I should Be looking for for my price range (which I'm open to suggestion as well).

Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated as I start my investing portfolio! Thanks!

Hi @John Dean are you looking for your first rental in Atlanta or Cobb County? The types of properties you find in Cobb vs Fulton or Dekalb are quite different. And depending on your criteria (turn key rental vs one that requires work) you'll tend to find more overpriced in not the best areas. Flippers do just flip to the end owner occupant. Some end up flipping homes to investors but still need their spread to make it a good deal for them. What's your max, what area(s) are you looking and are you willing to do some renovation or move in ready? Hopefully I can suggest some areas to consider.

@John Dean  That's because they are overpriced!  Don't let that bother you.  Make an offer you feel is fair.  Actually, make several offers and stay engaged until the houses you're bidding on sell.  You'll get one where you want for a fair price.  

Don't buy a rental house in a sketchy area.  It's likely to ruin your real estate career.  Being a first time landlord has enough hurdles.  You don't need to add the risk of extensive repairs, vandalism, and professional tenants.  

Where are you looking?  I'd look in Kennesaw if I lived in Marietta.  I'd also buy a nicer house that I could retail down the road if I had a W2.